CHRISTMAS HOLIDAYS

When I was growing up Christmas used to be one of my favorite times of the year especially going to by grandparents house in Scotland to their dairy farm which was a lot of work but we had fun too. My grandparents had an old fireplace that we would hang our stocking on and we would decorate the whole with garland, old ornments from different generations. Every year we would get new ornments to put on our real Christmas tree which we went to cut down.

My Grandma would start cooking some things at least two weeks before we needed to because we always baked cookies and homemaked things for our neighbors. Grandma always said it gave the neighborhood of a more family feel. Now days your lucky if you know your neighbor’s name or how many live there.

My brother and I moved into the place that we are in now in 2007 and I know my neighbor on the right of me because his wife before she died use to come visit all the time, then I know the neighbor two trailers over and across the street because he used to live with us before he married the girl across the street and now we know her and her Mom before her Mom died two years ago. That is all for my block and then of course I know about two other people in the park too that is it. It isn’t because I’m not trying to be friendly it is because people don’t want to be bother anymore because they have their own lives and families or have better things to do besides be socialable. I’m not really complaining about my neighbors and how they feel it’s just hard sometime to understand what I remember with what we have today.

One time I think it would be so cool to go back to the time when I was a kid and have a funfilled Christmas that could take away all my lastest memories of the past several years with loss of friends and family members. I’m not sure if it would be the same but hey it would be nice to time travel back just once to see.

Life is hard enough without having added stress from Christmas that is all about greed, commerialism, and too much grief. I love Christmas not because I am going to get presents but because God gave his only son to save us all and I think sometimes we as people forget that. Not all the time just sometimes. So let’s be a little more friendier to your neighbor and maybe help the the nursing home in your area with the people who would love to write letters but can’t because of health reasons, or some other reason. Give of yourself and I bet it will make you feel happier then you have been in a long time.

God bless you all. Merry Christmas and I hope you have a joyous New Year. Love all of you very much Kat.

Leave a Reply

